about me

Welcome to the expat investor, this is the story about me, my name is Jay you can call me “J” is fine, I am 27, currently working in Afghanistan and have been here over 2 years going onto my 3rd years. I took this job because I saw an opportunity to increase my net worth, saving, and invest for my long term goal. All of my expense is already paid off except for my two mortgages that I bought while I am over here. Although the living condition isn’t that great and you’re pretty much confined, almost like living in a prison (Note* I have never been to prison before, but it does feel like it). I have no regrets. My work schedule is 7 days a week, 12 hour shift no break on holiday only when I take vacation. It might sound crazy but, I still think it’s worth the risk and would like to think that I made a good decision by coming over here.

In the past 2 years of working oversea my net worth has increased a lot. This allowed me to invest more into index fund, stocks, p2p lending, and real estate. I would like to think I am somewhat financial savvy and am learning every day. I am in no shape or form of a certified financial planner, but am knowledgeable from reading many books in the past. I believe that having a diversify portfolio can provide me with passive income that can help me achieve my goal. I am always looking for any opportunities that can provide me with cash flow and increasing my net worth.

I decided to create this personal blog to share my personal experience, ideas, opinion in investing and personal finance. I want to help people understand the importance of saving and investing to live a comfortable life in retirement. My goal is to reach FIRE (Financially Independent Retired Early) by 40. I know it is an aggressive goal, but I will try my best to reach this goal through sheer determination, blood, sweat, and tears. I hope that you can follow me through my journey of trying to achieve my goal as an expat worker/investor.

If you have any question, suggestion, or comments, let me know.